Posted by: natehughart | May 19, 2009

With regards to Geoff Petrie’s legacy

This is going to sound stupid. In fact, very stupid. I can’t even blame you if you think it seems stupid, and in fact very much that I’m going to hell. I don’t blame you. I probably am.

But, this is how a great legacy gets started. Seriously.

Your team doesn’t get the pick it was hoping for, but it managed to snag the best player through a draft day trade or simply picking the best player at the 4th overall pick. It’s happened before, and it can happen again. I’m not saying Geoff Petrie will do that, but, it’s possible.

This hurts the franchise’s hype as I mentioned in the previous post I just wrote. It certainly hurts that. But for Geoff Petrie? You had to expect this. You had to believe this very scenario could happen, and to be quite honest, it’s very possible this team could trade up.

You know who the real loser in this draft is? Washington. Seriously. They really lost today. They finished 5th, and out of range to make a real trade. Or, then again, maybe not. There is always a team out there that could save them. They could always simply save salary. Or, then again, they could always take a player they think is great at that spot. They don’t have to do anything they don’t want to. But, Bullets fans today feel just as screwed as Kings fans do. Here’s the difference: The Kings unlike the Wizards Bullets fans don’t have a team that’s slated to pay the luxury tax next season.

The Kings didn’t get exciting news today. I know that. If you’re reading this, you believe that. You’re frustrated (and it kind of brings into counterpoint the whole Griffin/Rubio arguments now) and I don’t blame you. Every fan wants to be in the spotlight and soak up some of it. So does every franchise. If the Clippers not winning the lottery doesn’t prove that it’s all about luck, I don’t know what I can do to help you. The Kings were unlucky in the lottery. With Geoff Petrie, they’ve rarely made a bad decision in the draft.

Let me repeat that: With Geoff Petrie, the Kings have RARELY made a bad decision.

The worst decision? Quincy Douby over Rajon Rondo. By far. By loads of million miles far.

That happens. You know what? If you re-did the 2006 draft, the top 4 players would look like: Brandon Roy, Rajon Rondo, LaMarcus Aldridge (probably), and who would the 4th pick be? Yeah, I don’t know either. They don’t call ‘em crapshoots for nuthin folks. But, I know candidates for who that player could be. Tyrus Thomas, Andrea Bargnani (in fact he could be higher on that list), or Rudy Gay all could be there.

The point I’m making is that this team needs to get better by getting more talent. Whether the Kings selected 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th. This team has an opportunity to do that. In my experience, the media always latches onto players of certain talents, and yet, it doesn’t always mean anything. Very few players exceed their media hype from the time they come to the league (hello LeBron).

I love the Kings, and I’m a fan. I want them to get the best player in the draft. Nothing that happened today (especially with a team or two that might be willing to trade down in OKC or Memphis) convinces me that the Kings aren’t in good shape to trade up to get Memphis’ pick for instance. (More so Memphis because the Kings could make a swap that would work for both teams. I don’t really see it working for OKC myself because they have no real need to trade down. Also, if Rubio slips past the Clippers, Grizzlies, or Thunder, the Kings likely just take Rubio anyway. I don’t really see that happening though. The opportunity to grab Rubio will be something that Memphis has to at least consider.)

The bottom line is that a team can help itself by getting a quality player. That player could be Brandon Jennings, or Ricky Rubio, or Tyreke Evans, and although I don’t find it likely, Hasheem Thabeet. Anything’s possible folks!

I honestly think Kings fans are feeling depressed right now for one reason. There is so much buildup, and hype, associated with the lottery, and a ton of ill belief that the lottery is rigged, that when it doesn’t happen for you it just makes you feel angry and bitter. Which is unfortunate, sad, and frustrating, but I don’t blame fans.

Just read these threads. This was after the Kings lost out on Jerryd Bayless. The Kings got Jason Thompson. I love JT. I could have lived with Bayless, but in the grand scheme of things I would much rather have JT, or even Marreese Speights. (That’s who I stumped for.)

So, with regards to Geoff Petrie’s legacy, this is a hell of a start. Can he make a trade to get Rubio? Or another player of his ilk? (Likely Rubio.) Does he stay pat and go with a talent like Jennings, Evans, Thabeet or Harden?

The beauty of having a decision to make as a GM is that the decision is yours. This is Geoff’s decision, ultimately. It’s his legacy. It’s his chance. Geoff Petrie has already made an everlasting impression on Kings fans for a long time. This is another chance to throw a brick on that pretty tall house. I can’t believe that I feel that way, when just a week ago I felt there was a possibility Geoff was going senile. Senility be damned, I think Geoff is the right man for the job. I feel good, and quite honestly, I feel happy. I didn’t think I would I feel that way with the 4th overall pick. Maybe I should stop drinking Dr. Skipper now.

I leave with you the words of a wise sage:

Ooh, yeah! all right!
Were jammin:
I wanna jam it wid you.
Were jammin, jammin,
And I hope you like jammin, too.

Aint no rules, aint no vow, we can do it anyhow:
Ini will see you through,
cos everyday we pay the price with a little sacrifice,
Jammin till the jam is through.

Were jammin -
To think that jammin was a thing of the past;
Were jammin,
And I hope this jam is gonna last.

No bullet can stop us now, we neither beg nor we wont bow;
Neither can be bought nor sold.
We all defend the right; jah – jah children must unite:
Your life is worth much more than gold.

Were jammin (jammin, jammin, jammin)
And were jammin in the name of the lord;
Were jammin (jammin, jammin, jammin),
Were jammin right straight from yah.

Yeh! holy mount zion;
Holy mount zion:
Jah sitteth in mount zion
And rules all creation.

Yeah, were – were jammin (wotcha-wa),
Wotcha-wa-wa-wa, were jammin (wotcha-wa),
See, I wanna jam it wid you
Were jammin (jammin, jammin, jammin)
Im jammed: I hope youre jammin, too.

Jams about my pride and truth I cannot hide
To keep you satisfied.
True love that now exist is the love I cant resist,
So jam by my side.

Were jammin (jammin, jammin, jammin), yeah-eah-eah!
I wanna jam it wid you.
Were jammin, were jammin, were jammin, were jammin,
Were jammin, were jammin, were jammin, were jammin;
Hope you like jammin, too.
Were jammin, were jammin (jammin),
Were jammin, were jammin (jammin).
I wanna (I wanna jam it wid you) – I wanna -
I wanna jam wid you now.
Jammin, jammin (hope you like jammin too).
Eh-eh! I hope you like jammin, I hope you like jammin,
cause (I wanna jam it wid you). I wanna … wid you.
I like – I hope you – I hope you like jammin, too.
I wanna jam it;
I wanna jam it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

