Posted by: natehughart | September 2, 2009

Do the Kings have cap space right now?

Today, TZ posted a question on StR about whether the Kings could (or would) trade Kenny Thomas because of his expiring contract worth 8.775 million. I’ve already talked about that already. Still, I think it’s an interesting point that TZ brings up throughout which is simple: The Kings have the best “expiring contract” chip available at the moment with a big contract.

Still, do the Kings have cap room right now? I can’t tell because quite honestly I can’t find anything that clears that answer up for me. My guess is no, but that’s only a guess. Let me get to that in a bit, but, first, the important point is that does it matter?

I guess it does matter in the sense that having 5 million in cap room is better than not. On the other hand, unless the Kings are using that cap room in conjunction with a contract (like what Memphis did when they traded for Zach Randolph by giving up Quentin Richardson), and more importantly taking on long term money, than I’m not sure exactly what value Kenny Thomas will have on the open market.

******

I liked the idea’s that TZ threw around in that post today. He pointed out that Orlando took a ton of risks, and will be well over the tax threshold for the 2010-11 season. (And, Orlando won’t be alone.) He also pointed out that the team has 5 million in cap room to use. That’s what I want to explore here.

******

First, the NBA Salary Cap rules state that a team cannot be within the monetary value of the exceptions like the Mid Level, Minimum Salary etc, etc, etc. (Click the link if you want more explanation.) It’s pretty simple really: Unless the Kings renounced all their exceptions, the trade exceptions they’ve gotten over the last year, and the Free Agents on the roster (like Bobby Jackson, Corliss Williamson, Calvin Booth), the team doesn’t have any cap room.

I don’t know how Sean May was signed, and whether he was signed with an exception or not is something I would love to find out. (To be fair, these are questions other teams already know. They do know ALL the rules after all.) My guess was that he was signed with the Veterans Minimum exception, and for that to apply, the Kings must be over the cap.

******

So I bring this back to what TZ said today. Do the Kings have 5 million in cap room? Theoretically, yes, they should have that amount. (Realistically it should be around 5.4 million after the May signing.) But, does the NBA say that, and do the Kings want to have that amount of money available to make a trade? My guess is no.

Let me bring up another point. Forget all the exceptions added up, but Bobby Jackson, Corliss Williamson (who hasn’t been officially renounced as far as I can tell), Calvin Booth, among others are still creating a cap hold provided they haven’t been renounced. (I haven’t found any sign that this is the case.)

So, what is my point? Geoff Petrie is a very mysterious dude. Sometimes I wonder if his secrecy isn’t to keep other NBA GM’s in the dark, but the stupid ass saps who suck up to him instead. The problem? Most of them don’t care because if they don’t see action on Petrie’s part, they won’t give a shit to begin with.

Me? I wonder why the Kings would hold a weapon out of their arsenal when knowing full well it could net them a player that could make them better.

So why not utilize that weapon? Because the plan is to cut salary and build through the draft. And, it’s a smart plan. But, the only way to do that, and not have a healthy portion of the fanbase revolt, is to keep as many details in secret as possible. One way to do that is let it slip that the team will look at “all” possibilities. But, if the Kings don’t have that 5 million in cap room, those possibilities don’t exactly exist do they?

Personally, as I said, I don’t care. I wonder how the rest of the fanbase would feel if they know they were being duped into a lie. (This is assuming the Kings are considered over the cap, and the circumstances absolutely exist for that to happen. Just the cap holds on Williamson and Jackson would eliminate any cap room this team would have had, and that was before the team acquired Rodriguez on June 25th further cutting into that cap room with actual salary.)

So, yeah. I’m Debbie Downer. I rool! On one hand.

On the other hand, what does the franchise have to lose by announcing it doesn’t have cap room according to Salary Cap rules set forth by the current CBA? Nothing. (Except to idiots. But since when do they count?) It’s an interesting unique situation that’s worth repeating since most fans believe this team does have (and this is the intelligent part of the fanbase) cap room to begin with.

Aye Carumba. This has the makings of a disaster (mebbe). Color me intrigued.


Responses

  1. [...] I’ve already said in multiple ways that I don’t think the Kings have cap room. But, in order to do this deal as Amick has represented it, the Kings MUST have cap room. I’m not so much angry that I’m wrong here; I wasn’t so much going out on a limb but wondering how is it the Kings had cap room without showing the signs in order to do so. [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

