Posted by: natehughart | January 20, 2012

Kings escape San Antonio with a victory; Win 88-86

I wish I could say I enjoyed this game (I didn’t), but a victory is a victory nonetheless. I’m so sick and tired of this team 16 games into a shortened season where the deck was so one-sided in terms of being stacked against this group that it almost feels pointless to complain.

But I’m going to go right ahead and do it anyway.

This team is a terrible group of players collectively. As individuals, if they were in AAU, they’d be spectacular and dominant. The only problem with AAU ball is that it’s not real basketball by most NBA teams estimation. It’s just simply glorified streetball with slightly more organization. Do the Kings know that? Not really. They are too young. That isn’t an excuse though. That’s not all of the explanation.

Part of it is the Kings, starting with the pounding dribble maestro Tyreke Evans, dribbles and then makes the most obvious of moves towards the basket. Whether it’s one of the patented ridiculously retarded spin moves by Tyreke (I really hate that), or the pump fake and drive into the lane by DeMarcus Cousins. This team simply displays it’s ignorance in the most arrogant of ways. Sometimes, it’s simply youth. But really, they can get away with it against some teams like the Spurs who are not chock full of athletes and if the Spurs have a night off like they experienced.

Let’s be honest here. San Antonio was terrible tonight. Absolutely resoundly terrible. San Antonio should have lost by at least 15 points. They were that bad tonight. Hey, those nights happen and Sacramento certainly had a small part of that. The physical nightmare in matchup’s will always pose a team like the San Antonio Spurs problems given that the Spurs focus so heavily on skills, attitude and precision.

This team is literally impossible for me to enjoy given the lackadaiscal attitude, the poor ball movement, and the amount of youthful petulance exhibited all over the place (and it’s not just Cousins). This team needs to act in a professional manner, and, frankly, starting with Evans and Cousins,
those two simply doesn’t seem interested in playing the part.

I was going to write what I liked about this game (there are things), but fuck this team. This team can go fuck themselves until they learn how to make an extra pass, give extra effort on every possession, and play as if there is a gameplan (there certainly is but it’s not like they care).

Is it going to be pretty every night? Hell no. I’m not expecting that. Is it going to be perfect and run with absolute precision? Absolutely not. There comes a point where you either A) enjoy watching the team you’ve chosen to follow or B) you don’t enjoy that team. And I’m well beyond the point where I hate this team. That came probably from the time Westphal got fired (and nothing has happened since that tells me that Westphal should have been fired because Evans and Cousins were under performing; Neither Evans or Cousins need Westphal’s help for that), and truthfully it has absolutely nothing to do with Westphal. I absolutely 100% mean that I feel sorry for Keith Smart that he inherited two entitled spoiled brats who don’t understand what it means to run a NBA play. Or who don’t seem interested in running plays on a consistent basis.

The Kings need Tyreke Evans and DeMarcus Cousins to act like mature adults. Neither are ready, and tonight’s victory against the Spurs provides the stark reality of how immature both Evans and Cousins really are. A stark reality where Evans nearly picked up a Triple-Double (you know if he actually passed beyond the 1st half), Cousins picked up another double-double with 13 rebounds that reminds of why he went 5th in the 2010 draft in the 1st place. Neither guy won the game for the Kings, neither guy really did much to seal the victory (Cousins rebounding excepted), and both Evans and Cousins were not the real reason the Kings won. It says a lot about the Kings, and the 2 “franchise” players, that when they win it’s more about what the other team does not do than what the Kings are doing.

I’m at the point where I’d rather see this team lose by 40 so I could tune them out than have to pay attention to a close game and watch glorified AAU basketball. Until Tyreke Evans and DeMarcus Cousins learn that going 1 on 1 does not really work at the NBA level on a consistent basis (especially with the way Evans/Cousins insists on doing so), this crap will continue.

That’s all I got. Debbie Downer out.


Responses

  1. Zero constructive criticism, you should’ve hopped off the bandwagon after 08-09 season (if you even watched it) You say “fuck this team”, I say fuck you! Go Kings!!

    • Yeah I probably should have hopped off that wagon. Will Solomon sure did give me nightmares.

  2. I see where you are coming from Nathan but I think your timing is pretty bad. This Kings team has not had any high points throughout there embarrassing start so far but If I were to say they making a LITTLE bit of progress it would have to be now. Today, I still saw flashes of the pathetic play that this team has held there hats on all season long with there isolation offense and lazy defense. However, this is still the most positive vibe I’ve had from the Kings all season long because they’ve come off two HUGE wins regardless of if those teams were off or not. Beating Indiana who is 10 – 4 and one of the better teams in the east and of course tonight beating Spurs who were undefeated at home coming into the game. That’s pretty impressive stuff when you think about how low the Kings had to have been feeling coming out of the Dallas game in which they made history with there record setting low offense in the first half. I think it’s a sign of a LITTLE bit of hope but at the same time I wouldn’t be surprised if Memphis kicks there ass hard tomorrow as well.

    It’s really impossible to know what you are getting from this team but today I saw Tyreke looking fow his teamates more than usual, Demarcus Cousins being relentless on the rebounds, and Jason Thompson continuing to show significant strides in his game that you never really saw prior to the season. Thompson has actually developed into a very solid starting PF lately and has not only improved on his overall game (especially offensively) with adding a few posts move here and there but he’s also been able to show maturity and discipline himself by staying out of foul trouble. Jason Thompson used to be ALMOST as bad as Cousins in terms of foul trouble and it’s nice to see that he’s grown out of that and hopefully the same will happen for Cousins. Which leads me to my question that I was thinking over when I saw how well Thompson was playing and the confidence he had while doing it. Will Chuck Hayes automatically replace Thompson? I’m hoping not because Thompson is playing very solid now and is actually giving them the offensive production that Hayes couldn’t dream of. It would be nice to see some veteran leadership that this team is desperately lacking but It’s going to be frustrating to see anybody take minutes away from Thompson because he seems like he’s put a huge amount of hard work and has worked himself up to replacing that god awful JJ HIckson as the starting PF.

    Cousins is really showing what he’s capable of when he’s focused and not getting himself in stupid foul trouble or complaining to the refs. He still has been making some pretty helpless fouls that I hope he can improve upon by the end of the season but one thing I’ve noticed with Demarcus is that he’s not complaining to the refs anymore. The technical he had today was more of a reputation technical if you ask me and he really didn’t deserve it and wasn’t out of line at all. Not that I’m making excuses for Cousins because there’s proof with how he reacted to being fouled hard by Magloire in Toronto and also just taking a look at his demeanor ever since Keith Smart has replaced Paul Westphal. I’m not sold that Demarcus is a changed man all of a sudden but I will not ignore the babysteps and the improvements he’s making at this moment in time. Will he just go back to his old ways in a month or two from now? I wouldn’t be shocked. It was also nice to see John Salmons show some veteran leadership for the first time all season and step up not only to make one huge shot down the stretch but TWO huge shots. I’m hoping this will get Salmons confidence back up and allow him to remove his head out of his asshole.

    Memphis will be a nice little pop quiz to see if this team has actually made strides or they have just been in the right place, right time and are fooling me. They played Grizzles in Memphis a few weeks ago and got there ass handed too so this shall be interesting to see how they respond.

    BTW…going on his blog to tell him FUCK YOU? that’s out of line…I would never want to fornicate a grumpy old man like Nathan…his sister might be a different story though…not too shabby she cleans up pretty nicely.

    • Hey KF: That’s my first “You’re a fucking idiot and do you watch the game” comment in nearly 3 years so I’m not sure whether to be upset that I was small potatoes for so long that nobody cared if I wrote something like this or should be encouraged that more folks will be pissed at something I wrote for years to come. A double edged sword for sure….

      You make good points KF and I noticed many of those as well. It’s just again the overriding theme to me is that this team is more interested in implementing an AAU style rather than run a NBA style offense. My concern, and I don’t think it’s anywhere near unfounded, is that wins against San Antonio will continue the poor behavior that leads to big losses rather than help facilitate behavorial change that will lead to real growth as NBA players.

      Either way, it is what it is. Criticism will always come from writing pieces like this. Don’t write a piece like that, in my opinion, if you aren’t ready for the criticism.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

