Posted by: Kingsguru21 | September 1, 2009

Do 2nd round picks matter to Geoff Petrie?

I’ve been thinking about this very topic for awhile, and I haven’t exactly figured out a proper way to broach it. So, rather than doing the “proper” thing and finding a way, I just said fuck it and figured I’d run off at the mouth some.

It’s interesting when you look at Geoff Petrie’s track record in this regard. Since 1994, when he took Michael Smith, you can argue he hasn’t had a high caliber 2nd round pick other than Tyus Edney (1995), or Lawrence Funderburke (1994) ever perform for the Kings at a reasonable level.

2009: Jon Brockman (although in fairness to Petrie, part of that was because Brockman was taken 38th after the Sergio Rodriguez swap left the Kings without the 31st pick)

2008: Sean Singletary and Patrick Ewing Jr (they were both ultimately traded)

2007 & 2006 & 2005: No picks

2004: Ricky Minard (in fairness there isn’t anybody worth having below Minard anyway)

2003: No Pick

2002: Corsley Edwards (last pick of the 2nd round but players like Udonis Haslem and Reggie Evans also went undrafted that year as well…)

2001: Maurice Jeffers (Nothing worth squawking about)

2000
: Jabari Smith (I don’t care who was drafted below him–it doesn’t matter)

1999: Ryan Robertson (other than Manu Ginobili, who was picked 57th, does it matter here?)

1998
: Jerome James (ah, trash bag how I miss thee but I’m not sure the Kings missed a player who was essential to their team)

1997: Anthony Johnson (easily the most successful 2nd rounder in terms of minutes played by Petrie)

1996: Jason Sasser (doesn’t matter because they didn’t have Ben Wallace in camp come fall anyway)

1995: Edney and Bodiroga (47th & 51st overall respectively)

1994: Michael Smith (34th overall) and Lawrence Funderburke (51st overall)

I think I’ve made my point here, but if you want to go check out each & every draft, you might complain that the Kings should have taken Carlos Boozer (I’m in the no thanks camp myself), or a Gilbert Arenas, or somebody like that.

Me? I don’t think Geoff Petrie doesn’t value 2nd round picks, but he feels that the best talent will always be taken in the 1st round to begin with. (We can all agree with that, yes?) With a few exceptions (like 2001), the best talent will usually come from the top 5 picks. There’s a tier of talent that the NBA has, and, while it’s certainly not perfect by any stretch, it’s hardly a great expectation that the Kings will get worthwhile talent out of the 2nd round.

The only team that I think, over time, has done well in the 2nd round is the Utah Jazz. Why? Because they had Stockton & Malone. Players like Boozer and Okur were drafted by other teams before the Jazz signed them to deals. Still, and it’s without doubt in my eyes, the best player on the Jazz is Deron Williams who happened to be drafted 3rd overall in 2005.

I think I’ve made my point.

******

Why do I bring this up? Because Jon Brockman still hasn’t been offered a deal yet, and I wonder why.

First things first. I think the Kings would have preferred DeJuan Blair. But, the Spurs took him the pick before. Still, I don’t think it greatly matters. Brockman does things the Kings need, and I think they aren’t in a hurry to sign Brockman until it becomes clear they have to.

Personally? I think Brockman is a potential ideal type of 4th in the rotation big that any contending team needs. But, it will take him time. He has to get better at hitting his mid range J. (Something I’ve said many times.) He must finish inside on his limited opportunities. He must play hard, and he must add a dimension this team wouldn’t have otherwise without him on the court. Otherwise, why play him?

(Yes, the last paragraph is repeating what I’ve already said. Still, it’s worth repeating as far as I’m concerned.)

Now I do think the signing of Sean May is significant in that the Kings may be looking for another C. But, why sign May if you had no trust in Brockman to begin with? Why take Brockman on draft night?

To say I’m confused about why the delayed signing of Brockman has happened is a big 10-4. I’m not even sure why the Kings are letting him twist in the wind (other than they can–and can for 5 more days apparently), or more importantly why it matters either way.

What I do know is simple: Sometimes being deliberate makes sense. When being deliberate just gets you to choose the difference between heads & tails on a nickel, what’s the point?

Leave a Reply

Categories

