Posted by: Kingsguru21 | October 30, 2009

Kings at Nawlinz Hornets

Riding on the City of New Orleans,
Illinois Central, monday morning rail,
fifteen cars and fifteen restless riders,
three conductors, twenty-five sacks of mail.
All along the southbound Odyssey
the train pulls out of Kankakee
and rolls along the houses, farms and fields,
passing towns that had no names
and freight yards full of old black men
and the graveyards of the rusted automobiles.

Good morning America, how are you?
Say don’t you know me, I’m your native son.
I’m the train they call the City of New Orleans,
I’ll be gone five hundred miles when the day is done.

Dealin’ card games with the old man in the club car,
penny a point and no one’s keepin’ score,
pass the paper bag that holds the bottle,
you can feel the wheels grumblin’ neath the floor.
And the sons of Pullman porters and the sons of engineers
ride their father’s magic carpet made of steel
mothers with their babies asleep
are rockin’ to the gentle beat
and the rhythm of the rails is all they feel.

Good morning America, how are you?
Say don’t you know me, I’m your native son.
I’m the train they call the City of New Orleans,
I’ll be gone five hundred miles when the day is done.

Night-time on the City of New Orleans
changing cars in Memphis, Tennessee
halfway home, we’ll be there by morning
through the Mississippi darkness rollin’ down to the sea.
But all the towns and people seem to fade into a bad dream
and the steel rail hasn’t heard the news
the conductor sings his songs again,
it’s passengers will please refrain,
this train’s got the disappearin’ railroad blues.

Good night America, how are you?
Say don’t you know me, I’m your native son.
I’m the train they call the City of New Orleans,
I’ll be gone five hundred miles when the day is done.

Oh boy, and I thought Russell Westbrook was rough on Tyreke Evans Wednesday Night. I’m quite honestly terrified to see how Evans matches up with Chris Paul.

I sort of think this is akin to a 5 year old kid going into a fight with a 22 year old Mike Tyson and a shotgun in Tyson’s hand to boot.

I just hope Tyreke Evans doesn’t hide under his blankie by the end of this.

Okay, I’m kidding. But, Chris Paul is that good, and, since Evans had a bit of a problem with off-the-ball defense vs Westbrook and the Thunder, I think it’s a fair point to argue that the Kings will not be as effective unless Evans is able to stop penetration.

Good luck Tyreke.

On the other hand, there is the opportunity that you can double Chris Paul. And, given that the Hornets started Morris Peterson and Julian Wright against the Spurs, I think it’s a safe bet that the Kings will double off those 2 guys all night long to help on Paul.

If David West has a big game (and Sean May has absolutely to cover him well tonight), it’s all she wrote. This is one game where I think Jon Brockman might be very effective in just banging West around. While West is not a completely finesse player, he’s not a very physical player either.

We already know that Paul Westphal won’t change his starting lineup, and I can see kind of why. David West and Emeka Okafor provide a better matchup for Sean May/Jason Thompson, I think, than Jeff Green and Nenad Krstic do. (Yes, I know.)

As I’ve alluded to (or maybe it’s just me projecting that I’m alluding to it), rotations will be key tonight. There is virtually no way that Tyreke Evans can defend Chris Paul because Paul is unguardable. Morris Peterson and Julian Wright will likely determine the fate of the Kings tonight with their outside shooting, and/or efficient offensive play. Against San Antonio, the pair combined for a 6 for 15 shooting. If the Kings want to give themselves a chance to win, they’ll have to make that pair repeat that performance.

As far as offense, I’m excited to see Tyreke Evans rebound from Wednesday’s crappilicious fest tonight in Nawlinz. It’s not really about beating up Chris Paul (that can’t hurt though) in the post, although I’d like to see a great deal more aggressive from Easy Reke than I saw vs Westbrook the other night, but it’s about making the Hornets pay for whatever matchup they choose. Tyreke Evans is the matchup nightmare other teams worry about. If he isn’t exploiting it (and this is an unfortunate happenstance of rookie’s), than it will be tough for the Kings to create the necessary ball movement for the Hornets to pay defensively tonight.

And, you could argue that the bench is greater for Sacramento than New Orleans as Ryan Schwan of Hornets 247 argued. We also know that Peja Stojakovic is now coming off the bench because of his recurring back problems.

Seriously, as Schwan pointed out, using an article from the New Orleans Times-Picayune as reference, the Hornets bench was outscored 30-0 before halftime in the Hornets-Spurs game on Wednesday night. And, by the end of the night it was 61-19. (To be fair Manu Ginobili does come off the bench and had a decent game–shot 5-11 for 16 points–but still.) Ouch. So, maybe the Kings do have an advantage there.

So, that’s that. Here’s what I’d like to see happen tonight:

  1. The Kings rotate well defensively
  2. have consistent ball movement
  3. Getting quality shots within the context of the offense
  4. A quality start on the road (for a change)

If these things happen, I guarantee you the game will be exciting and the Kings will have a chance to win. A guarantee? Eh, maybe not. That’s okay though. The Kings are young, they’re building on something, and Rome wasn’t built in the day.

If you’re looking for an opponent viewpoint, Hornets 247 and At the Hive should do you just fine.

UPDATE: Also, if you want to read about Omri Casspi, watch this video piece off Fanhouse by Elie Seckbaugh.

I’m the train they call the City of New Orleans,
I’ll be gone five hundred miles when the day is done.

Leave a Reply

Categories

