Posted by: Kingsguru21 | November 7, 2009

Another episode in the day of the life of Sacramento media fiefdom

I’m tired of talking about Grant Napear and how irritating he is. In fact, I’m hoping he quits his radio show soon and people will promptly forget he exists.

The fact remains that Napear is the biggest voice, and central figure, of the prime time drive home radio show in the Sacramento market. The problem, naturally, is that Napear also happens to be the TV voice for the Kings and does those games 82 times a year. Obviously, his time with the Kings takes precedence.

Sam Amick has the story in this morning’s paper with all the giddy details.

While Napear cautioned the listeners to wait and see if Martin played against Atlanta before criticizing him again, Napear added: “If he doesn’t play tonight (Wednesday), then go ahead and call up tomorrow and kill him and I have no problem with that.”

As it turns out, Martin had suffered the fracture in the first half of his 48-point game against Memphis on Monday, then scored 29 points and grabbed 11 rebounds while playing with the injury against Atlanta on Wednesday.

“That just shows you what type of guy (Napear) is,” said Martin, who opted for surgery over wearing a cast but was told he could not play through the injury.

“He didn’t know the injury, that I was playing with a broken bone the other night. Nobody knew it was broken. I didn’t know it was broken. And just like right now, I want to play. But I can’t.”

It’s perplexing to me, along with many other fans, that Napear represents such vitriol in the local sports talk radio market. (Or, the sports market period.)

This is what Bobby Jackson had to say about all of this:

“At the end of the day – if it’s going to continue to be this way – somebody from upper management is going to have to be like, ‘You know what, you’ve got to talk more positive about our players,’ ” Jackson said. “He’s killing (players) on the (down) low … and nobody from upstairs has said anything to him. He’s been able to do that for so long, been able to rub people the wrong way and rub the players the wrong way.”

But that’s not what kills me.

This quote by Napear kills me:

“I was raised (to believe) you play until you’re going to do damage to your body,” Napear said. “We’re in a depressed economy, and these fans deserve to see these players play.

“(For years) players have sat when they could’ve played. That bothers me. Now when a guy has a broken bone in his body, that’s a different story.

“I don’t change my stance on (his view of Martin’s ankle injury) at all. If a player can play, I think they should play.”

Huh? I mean, hasn’t Kevin Martin done this? Didn’t playing on an awful ankle that most teams would have shut him down for the whole season provide absolute lock down proof of this?

Worse, the part about the economy is what’s really funny. What was the excuse with Jackson? That the Kings weren’t championship contenders without Bobby Jackson?

Give me a break. But, Napear is only part of the problem.

******

If you ask me Sacramento media is bush. Not every media member, or every radio personality on KHTK perse, but the mentality is bush league. It’s very small time. I guarantee anyone who works for CBS radio that you could toss Peaches on his ass tomorrow and you will get similar ratings. It might shock a few people, but Napear has turned off a large segment of listeners who would otherwise listen in a market with exactly 1 station. When Sacramento Kings fans would rather listen to Bay Area radio stations, what does that tell you?

And this story is hardly uncommon. Since I don’t live in Sacramento, I can only choose to listen to what I want. It’s not that I can’t listen to 1140 at all; I very much can indeed. I listen to Internet radio all the time. I just listen to music 99% of the time is all.

What kills me in a one horse newspaper town, which has it’s own issue’s, and in a one horse radio town (for all intents & purposes), you have one medium (the Bee) where it’s changed and attempted some level of coverage from the past. The Sac Bee blog is a perfect example of this.

We’ve already been through this already. It’s happened multiple times before. And guess what? That doesn’t even include what I had to say about the whole deal.

It’s not that Napear’s brand of bullshit is new. It’s not that anyone is surprised by the amount of consternation he attempts to drive into sports debate.

What is so puzzling is why the Kings management allows this repugnant clap trap to continue. I hope Bobby Jackson’s quote comes true in the sense that Napear is told “Our way or the highway”.

I don’t care if KHTK fires Napear because he’s a pithy red head mouth. I don’t care if the Kings force him to re-sign his paycheck at KHTK or force him to walk out the door as the TV play by play guy.

To be quite honest with you, I just wasted 1000 words on what’s becoming a circular, repetitive, and stupid story. It resolves around one person. One person who attempts to abuse insider knowledge by being a bully on the air with callers. One person who will tell you that he gets high caliber of “insiders” because of his personal contacts.

Quite frankly, I don’t think most fans give a shit. They want a chance to vent about the Kings in their way, and they could give a shit if the 2 guys who announce the Yankees come on the radio show.

The only person who benefits from Grant Napear’s double dip/conflict of interest here is Grant Napear. Once upon a time, the franchise overlooked it because of his tendency to talk about the team in whole positives.

Now, because he has a tendency to rip Kevin Martin to play with injuries that no player should play with (regardless of how Napear was raised to believe these players should play), the star player, the guy who is averaging over 30 points a game in 5 games, good for 3rd in the NBA, just ripped the play by play TV guy in the local paper.

If that doesn’t define dysfunctional for a sports franchise, I don’t know what does. It’s embarrassing, and it’s bush league. Stop it somebody. For the love of all that is holy, or simple common sense; Force Napear off the air!!! You will find yourself tuning into 1140 at 4:30 and realizing that an irritating red head Long Island asshole no longer inhabits the space.

Make no mistake, I don’t hold Napear accountable for being the douchebag he acts like. I hold the KHTK programmers accountable. I hold the Kings franchise accountable for allowing the audacious double dipping. Radio does not have to have an abrasive personality that has more toxic fumes than Lindsay Lohan’s recent breathalyzer. (Ever listen to Howard Eskin? I rest my case.) Proof? Listen to the Rise Guys, Jim Kozimor or Carmichael Dave’s show. They are not nearly as abrasive as Napear is. We all have our quirks. Nobody is 100% perfect in this particular endeavor.

Yet, I can make an argument that the management of KHTK and Kings management have committed sports terrorism by allowing Napear to continue his gig at SportsLine.

But, at the end of the day, it’s the same old story, and it’s irritating. Just make it stop. Somebody. Anybody. Grant Napear isn’t worth 1300 words. He isn’t worth giving gonorrhea to.

If you’ve ever seen the Boondock Saints, one of the best racist jokes of all time was told near the beginning of the flick. (If you’ve never seen the Saints, slap yourself 1000 times. Then watch it.)

The joke went like this:

Yakavetta: I’m having a shitty day. I’m depressed. Tell me a funny joke.
Rocco: Now? A joke? Uh… um, uh… A joke. Yeah, alright. Um… There’s these, uh, three guys, uh… a-a-a-a spic, a-a-a-a white guy and a black guy.
Yakavetta: Nigger.
Rocco: Yeah, n-n- Yeah. And-and they walk along the beach, they see this pot, they rub it, genie comes out. Genie says, you know, “You wish for anything you want.” So, he asks, uh-uh, Mexican what-what he wants, and he goes, uh, uh, “I want, uh, all my people in America to be happy and free and in Mexico.” And so, genie – Poof! And, all the spics are in Mexico. And then he asks the black guy…
Vincenzo Lipazzi: Nigger.
Rocco: Yeah, that’s what I said. Goes to the, uh- uh, nigger, says, uh, “What do you want?” And he goes, um, uh, “I want all my African- my nigger brothers in America to be back in Africa and-and happy and everything.” You know? So, genie goes poof! And, um, all the niggers in America are in Africa. And, uh, uh, uh, this is go- I’m not funny today. I-I know. I’m havin’ a hard day. I-I-I- This joke sucks. It’s-it’s-it’s a stupid joke.
Yakavetta: Continue the joke.
Rocco: So the genie says to the white guy, uh, um, “What’s your one wish?” And the white guy goes, “You mean to tell me all the niggers and spics are out of America?” Genie goes, “Yeah.” He says, “Well, um, I’ll have a Coke, then.”

Now just imagine Grant Napear was the Coke? Sigh. 916 media fiefdom, HO!

Leave a Reply

Categories

