Posted by: Kingsguru21 | April 2, 2010

Extra! Extra! Read all about it! (Tasty early morning linkage.)

Since I’m being a stupid asshole this morning, I thought I’d share some of the things I’ve been reading that aren’t really Kings-related.

* Ross Geiger of Bucksetball examines whether John Salmons should opt out of his contract. Frankly, I’d still be shocked if Salmons opted out of his contract, but I can’t blame any Bucks fan for thinking so.

* If you like reading how pointless of an owner Chris Cohan is, read this.

* Apparently Ernie Grunfeld and Flip Saunders wanted the Wiz to keep losing.

* If Antoine Walker interests you to read 1500 words, this is the post for you. Seriously, Sham points out just how low ‘Toine can go.

* If you aren’t familiar with the perpetual self loathing at Blazers Edge, head there now. (It’s perpetual self loathing I admire though.) If you wanna know specifically want went wrong at Denver, read Dave Deckard’s fantastic recap.

* Read all about Zaza Pachulia love.

* A recap of the Magic’s victory in Dallas last night. Also, an interesting point about how potent Dwight Howard is offensively.

* Want to know how not to do social media? Read this boondoggle the Wolves have undertaken. Also, one Wolves fan is interested in Andres Nocioni. I find that interesting because Noc CAN hit the 3, and the Wolves absolutely need that. What I can’t figure out is why they would want to pay the 13.5 million for the next 2 seasons.

* If you’re curious to know more about the EuroLeague Final 4, I suggest heading to BallinEurope. If you’re interested to see how Ricky Rubio has done over there, I suggest reading this post.

* Just in case you’re wondering, the NCAA Final 4 features Duke, West Virginia, Mich St and Butler. Among those teams, the best prospects according to DX is Devin Ebanks of WVU and Kyle Singler of Duke. Both are in the late 1st round.

* Is it prejudiced to dislike the Chinese for skewing the All-Star vote? A fellow at the Dream Shake seems to believe so.

* What summer moves worked? Which didn’t? Read Fran Blinebury’s take. Also, David Aldridge’s opinion on the Kevin Pritchard nonsense. And a “where are they now” look at the trio of Gators who won b2b titles last decade. Also a look at MJ’s potential impact on owning the Bobcats.

And the best for last. From Scott Howard Cooper:

The impressive rookie season of Tyreke Evans has led all the way to the Kings point guard becoming a candidate to be added to the Team USA roster. (Although being compared to Magic Johnson by Trail Blazers coach Nate McMillan may be tough to beat.) The U.S., favorites for the gold at the world championships, already have Chauncey Billups, Chris Paul, Rajon Rondo, Derrick Rose, Russell Westbrook and Deron Williams at the point, in addition to Kobe Bryant, Dwyane Wade and perhaps LeBron James among others as experienced ballhandlers. But Evans has moved into consideration. While he would be a longshot to make the team that plays in Turkey beginning in late August, participating in the mini-camp and exhibition games would be an important first step into the program. Getting an invitation to join Rondo and Tayshaun Prince as late additions to the initial 27-man roster may come down to Paul’s health after he missed 25 games with a knee injury.

Responses

  1. You have been a busy boy! The sad thing is I’ve already about half of these posts. As my son reminds me, “Dad, get a life!”

    • Sons tend to be wiser than they know BJ.

  2. Great post, as always; Pookey.

    I found the Euroball clip particularly entertaining:When the spanish coach was compared to Mike Dentoni; I almost choked on my Zinfandel here, lol.

    I wonder why juan carlos navaro(sp?) doesn’t make the jump to the NBA, I almost thought I was watching a young Peja there(& that’s not to bad!)

    • If you’re talking about Ettore Messina, than yes there is a comparison merited. Both Messina and D’Antoni got their coaching starts in the Italian League.

      Don’t be surprised if Messina ends up being a head coach on a NBA team. Messina’s offensive knowledge is so good that Mike Brown (coach of the Cavs) sought him out in the 2008 offseason to help him improve the Cavs offense.

      Ettore Messina is no joke. (I didn’t really watch the Ball in Europe clips. I was tired when I linked to them and what not.)

      As far as Navarro, he has played in the NBA. He played a year for the Grizzlies a few years ago the year Pau Gasol was traded. I think Navarro left because he’d rather be a star in Europe than a good player in the NBA.

  3. Now that’s what I like about you pookey; I learn things from you…

    I didn’t know that D’Antoni started in the Italian league,but when I saw how I misspelled his name, all the sudden it made perfect sense.

    the offense that Messina was running did look very D’Antoni-like….but I’d say defense was somewhat in short supply(tho’ not as bad as Nellie-ball).

    I was unaware that Navarro had played in the NBA; when was that exactly & for what team, do you remember?If he would prefer to be a big fish in a small pond, I’d say he’s in the right place.


Leave a Reply

Categories

