Posted by: Kingsguru21 | April 27, 2010

Tyreke Evans to be named Rookie of the Year later this week

Finally. Just a few minutes ago I was hoping that some kind of confirmation would name whomever the Rookie of the Year was. According to Tom Ziller, there is going to be some kind of confirmation later in the week (he says Thursday or Friday).

Congratulations to Tyreke Evans, Stephen Curry, Brandon Jennings, and the other rookies (Marcus Thornton, Darren Collison, Ty Lawson, Jonas Jerebko are just a few who come to mind) who had successful rookie seasons.

Thanks, again, to TZ for breaking this early and using whatever sources he could to get this story out there. For a lot of reasons, and the timing chief among them, the timing to announce Rookie of the Year seemed a bit belated. It’s nice to know that it’s over now.

Of course, congratulations on Tyreke Evans becoming the first player in the Kings organization since Oscar Robertson (in 1960-61) to win Rookie of the Year. (UPDATE: I totally forgot that Phil Ford won the ROTY in the 1978-79 season, and Jerry Lucas won it in the 1962-63 season. Sorry about that. Having said that, that’s a nice list. )

UPDATE: Tom Ziller is now reporting that there is a press conference scheduled for 12pm PST at the Kings practice facility. Jason Jones says he doesn’t know when the presser is going to be had yet.

Again, Kudos to TZ and the Sactown Royalty staff on the scoop.

UPDATE 2: Zach Harper and Jason Jones have both confirmed the earlier findings of TZ & StR. (H/T Exhibit G.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: