Posted by: Kingsguru21 | February 24, 2011

Kings trade for Marquis Daniels and Trade Deadline thoughts

Well, let’s get the important stuff out of the way first.

Contrary to some reports (and it’s coming out now–which is why I waited to comment on it), Marquis Daniels has been traded to the Kings along with “cash considerations” (how much money is an interesting detail but one I don’t know how to get from those in the know) for a 2017 2nd round pick (top 55 protected). Why did the Celtics do this? Daniels is out for the season after suffering a bruised spinal card earlier this month.

Now, that probably means that Daniels will get waived within a few days as the Kings don’t really have any use for Daniels.

I discussed this after the Thornton-Landry trade, but another deal was needed to get the Kings over the minimum cap (although apparently luxury or escrow tax was not forfeited if a team is under the minimum cap). That was why the Kings did this deal.

Now that’s the simple part.

******

First the Anaheim portion of this. I know a lot of fans will probably mouth off a bit about the Maloof’s wanting to save cap space until being able to move to Anaheim and use it. Let me point out something: Cap space is the same and will have the same effect in Anaheim or Sacramento. The only potential difference is taxes, and unless you’re moving to a state without a state income tax (if they moved to Seattle that would be a difference–Washington has no state income tax), it’s really not that big of a deal. Plus, athletes are like entertainers in that they get taxed for where they play and not necessarily for what state they reside in.

As far as the actual effect Anaheim had on the trade deadline, I don’t think it really has had much effect if any. The Maloof’s wanting to move to Anaheim has been a better revenue stream from the arena than they are getting from Arco.

That doesn’t mean you won’t see people complain that the team is waiting to use Anaheim as a drawing card for potential Free Agents. There’s just one problem: The Kings arguably already have Bird Rights to the best potential Free Agent on that list: Sammy Dalembert. (There is a few other guys like Nene, Tayshaun Prince or Shane Battier you might argue are better. Go for it.) And this point is undeniable: With the other 3 guys I just mentioned, that’s the cream of the 2011 Free Agent crop.

I think the disappointment of not making a trade deadline move like Oklahoma City (even though they did not give up any of their core players or core asset’s to do so) to get Kendrick Perkins, Nate Robinson and Nazr Mohammed sucks for fans: They want to be that team that goes out and does that.

My answer to this is the same regardless of Anaheim (because my feeling that moving to Anaheim now is a bad move anyway regardless of Free Agency): If you can’t use your cap space to benefit you, don’t use it. If you can, you must use it.

Let me put it this way: If the Kings turned down a player like Courtney Lee, Tyrus Thomas or a player like that could really help this team, I’ll be disappointed. If they turned down an opportunity to not trade Francisco Garcia for Andrei Kirilenko, I don’t really care. I don’t care about more flexibility for this team in the Free Agent market. The earliest it might be of any use is 2012, and if you look at that Free Agent list, the big fish are Deron Williams, Chris Paul and Dwight Howard. Do you think the Kings, whether they are in Anaheim or not, will have a chance at any of them?

Like I’ve said before, this team has made the gamble that Tyreke Evans and DeMarcus Cousins can lead this team to greater heights, and sooner rather than later. That’s why they threw them in the middle of the fire. The truth is, what they are being asked to do, is the risk the Maloof’s and Petrie have taken. Now, Amick mentioned in a chat with Bee readers that the management has been hamstrung somewhat by not being able to take money back in trades. Let me ask: Unless there is a significant player coming back, role player or star, is it really worth doing a deal? Shane Battier is a player I would have considered although I prefer Courtney Lee. OJ Mayo is not a player I would have considered. (For instance.)

That’s the crux of the issue here: Did the Kings help themselves by not making a significant deal for a lesser player? It depends on the player.

My opinion is unless the Kings turned down an offer to turn down a player that could help the team in the long term because of money issue’s, that’s when I will be down on them for the lack of real moves outside of the Thornton/Landry trade.

******

Now, the Kings have 44,738,743 in committed salary that will certainly take them to June 30th. What this means is that unless the Kings trade for a player after the season ends (which is the next time the Kings can make a trade) and before June 30th as a day passes, the cap space is one area the Kings have an advantage.

So if you can ignore all the Anaheim stuff going on (admittedly near impossible), I think you can see there is a sound strategy that, again the Anaheim stuff being resolved in the interim, could easily benefit the Sacramento Kings.

Or maybe I’m just refusing to play Debbie Downer. Take your pick.

There’s one other factor here that people don’t necessarily realize. The draft, which, other than the trade deadline, is when a lot of deals get done. The Kings could, conceivably, use their cap space to their benefit then and make a deal that could improve the team during the draft. With the cap space, that can be done rather easily since money won’t necessarily be doled out (it will just eat up the cap space if the Kings trade their draft pick for “insert player of your choice”) in a trade until next season.

Like I say, there are other teams cap space can be utilized, and the Kings made a move to strengthen their backcourt because they had the opportunity to get Marcus Thornton (assuming Thornton and Jermaine Taylor don’t show to be a duplication of each other’s talents), and the opportunity to get a little cash in exchange for their cap space.

What I don’t want is for the Kings to use their cap space on players like Charlie Villaneuva and Ben Gordon and end up in the Pistons situation. Is that really a place as a fan you want the Kings to be?

Responses

  1. Back to commenting again!

    I agree with you, the Marquis Daniels may taste a little bitter in fans’ mouths, as many of us wanted the Kings to show commitment to improve the team right now, but, really, it made little sense. Many good players changed teams, but the teams which let them go almost always asked high prices: Deron Williams costed the Nets a very good pg in Devin Harris and a #3 pick with high potential in Derrick Favors; Perkins (a player I love) costed the Thunder a nice asset in Jeff Green and depth (OKC clearly went out as winners in this trade, but Perkins rejected an extension with the C’s and probably Boston didn’t want to spend more than 7 mill/year on him with the CBA incoming).

    The Kings had little to nothing to offer: they managed to get a fine player in Marcus Thornton for a player that was less than likely to resing with them during the summer and they decided to keep their better trade asset (Sammy) probably deciding to resign him this summer. Sincerely, given the large amount of cap space the Kings will have and their will to keep him, I’m pretty sure Dalembert will stay in purple and black next season (I can’t say I’m very happy of it, but this is it).

    I think the Kings inquired a little bit to see if some good player was available, but, given the price asked, decided to keep their money, in order to make a little profit this year and to arrive to the new CBA in the best position. It will probably make little sense to spend those money this summer, given the lack of quality players becoming free agents, but the space can be used to absorb salaries for picks, and, come 2012, be more active at the deadline.

    • I still think, Panz (and welcome back of course), that the Kings could use their cap space at the draft, or during the summer (assuming there is one) just as easily as the recently passed trade deadline. At some point though, the Kings are going to need to make a significant move to either re-sign or sign a player that can help this team.

      I’m not against not signing a Free Agent if you think Marcus Thornton and Sammy Dalembert are worth re-signing and not bringing in outside Free Agents.

      However, if the teams moves to Anaheim this summer, the Maloof’s can still kiss my ass.

      • It would be awful if the Kings leave Sactown: the Italian tv started broadcasting a few NBA matches in the late 90s and I immediately fell in love with this team. They may not win, but I wouldn’t change the passion and love I have for this team with the winning traditions of other teams.
        I’d probably keep on rooting for the Kings if they move, but I know that it wouldn’t be the same thing.

        • You got that right brotha! (Well without the rooting part for Anaheim in my case. That’s too bitter a pill.)

          • You know, I thought that I may just stop supporting the Kings if they move…but then I realized that I love too much this franchise, the players that I know and that I learned to love (and hate sometimes) that I don’t think I’d be able to really root for another team (in that case probably the Blazers would have my rooting).

            • I don’t know how I’ll feel if they do end up moving. I’m going to assess how I feel then. I do know if the Kings move to Anaheim this off-season, I’m done with the franchise forever. Next year in 2012? I could live with that but I’ll dump them in a heartbeat if something better comes along.

              My loyalty begins and ends with it being the Sacramento Kings. Key word? Sacramento.

              • little Errata Corrige here: I wrote Blazers but I meant Spurs.

                You sure have more ties to the city of Sacramento than I do (my only tie is that my sister works at UCDavis, but she’s been living there only in the last few years). I repeat: I love this fuckin’ team, and I hope with all my heart that they stay in Cowtown.

                • My connection to the city, and it’s shoddy cowtown like attitude, goes back to the mid 80’s. My personal connection to the team goes back to 90-91 at the very earliest to about 1994 when I started paying real day in day out attention to the team forward. Even then, I’ve had lulls (from about 2005-2007) because of various issue’s.

                  Fandom isn’t a linear progression. It’s very much a random, non-linear progression that one either accepts or doesn’t. The beauty of fandom is we all have our own ways. There are ways I definitely prefer over others (like not calling for Westphal’s head after a frustrating loss is just 1 example), but it’s all pretty much fandom.

                  As much as I love following the game itself, there are so many other things that I think the Kings do for Sacramento that you can’t measure in dollars and cents. One is the sort of community togetherness you find. We have all kinds of problems, even more so in a diverse racial makeup that the US has, and thus you need to find common ground. The sociological aspect of sports gives us a way to bridge some of those gaps. The diversity of a Kings fanbase is stunning to me, and one that often gets overlooked as a positive.

                  Sports is the only place where a janitor, a student, a fancy economist, a PhD scholar, a pimply 15 year old, and a mother can all have the same rooting interest and more or less be on the same footing. Few settings, if any, offer that.

                  Just yet another reason I’ll miss the Kings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

